In few sports has an athlete exhibited the dominance achieved by A.J. Foyt in auto racing. From 1953 to 1981, Foyt won more than 155 races in all types of racing automobiles, including victories in 67 Indy-car races, 41 stock-car races, 28 sprint-car races, and 20 midget-car races. He was the first man to win auto racing's Triple Crown--the Indianapolis 500, which he won four times (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977); the Pocono 500, which he won three times and the Ontario 500, which he won once. In the Indy 500, Foyt was the only driver to win in both a front-engine and a rear-engine racecar. He also won the U.S. Auto Club national championship more than any other racer when he achieved his seventh title in 1979. By the end of his career in auto racing, Foyt had won more races than anyone in the history of the sport. He was inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in 1967. In 1999 A.J. Foyt and Mario Andretti were named Co-Drivers of the Century by the Associated Press.

A.J. Foyt

@2023 by Raw.etc. Proudly created with